Since 1987 SFCC has recognized an outstanding alumnus at spring commencement. Read about the latest award winner and nominate a graduate for the next year’s award.

Patricia “Patty” Wood

State Fair Community College is pleased to recognize Patricia “Patty” Wood of La Monte as the 2023 Distinguished Alumni. Wood has served on SFCC’s Board of Trustees since 2012 and currently is president of the board.  

Wood graduated from State Fair Community College in 1972 with an Associate of Arts degree. Later she earned a Bachelor of Science in Education in 1974, a Master of Science in Education in 1998, and additional hours towards a Specialist Degree, all from the University of Central Missouri. Her 32-year career in education includes pre-K and elementary teaching, K-12 Library Media Specialist and Technology Coordinator at Pettis County R-V and Sedalia school districts.  She is a member of the Missouri Retired Teachers Association.

Wood attributes her success to the educational foundation she received at SFCC.  She serves on the SFCC Foundation Campaign Committee and is helping to raise funds for a new advanced agriculture and transportation technology center. Additionally, Wood has served on other committees including SFCC’s 25th, 40th and 50th anniversary celebrations.

In addition to the college, Wood supports agriculture locally, in Missouri and nationally.  Recently, she was appointed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture to the National Cattlemen’s Beef Promotion and Research Board.  In 2021, she served as Missouri Cattlemen’s Association president and is the University of Missouri (MU) Extension of Pettis County council president.  She is a member of the Pettis County Cattlemen’s Association, Missouri CattleWomen, Missouri Farm Bureau, American National CattleWomen, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association, and the Missouri State Fair Foundation.  Since 1994, Wood and husband Pat have welcomed fairgoers to the Missouri Cattlemen’s Beef House on the Missouri State Fairgrounds.

In 1990, the Wood family was named MU Extension of Pettis County State Fair Farm Family, and in 1991, was named Sedalia Area Chamber of Commerce Farm Family. Wood and Pat received Missouri Cattlemen’s Association Cattlemen of the Year Award in 2007, and Wood received Missouri CattleWoman of the Year Award in 2016.

The Woods own and operate a diversified farm with a cow-calf operation and row crops. They have two children, Stacey Follis (Chad), Brian Wood (Becky) and four grandchildren.

“We are extremely proud of alumna Patty Wood, who has provided exemplary leadership within the SFCC Board of Trustees,” said Dr. Brent Bates, SFCC president. “She is passionate about SFCC and cares deeply about student success. Patty’s educational and career accomplishments are outstanding, making her a wonderful honoree for the SFCC Distinguished Alumni Award.”

Distinguished Alumni Recipients

2022Dr. Rhonda Hutton GannClass of 1982, 1983
2021Lana Kay KellyClass of 1980, 1983
2020Lenny FreundClass of 1980
2019Celso DoriaClass of 1992
2018Lt. Col. Justin SecrestClass of 1993
2017Dr. Kristee LorenzClass of 1986
2016Jorge R. GuevaraClasses of 2005, 2006, 2009
2015Dr. Jennifer HargraveClass of 1998
2014Roger C. AustinClass of 1986
2013Dr. Dean DohrmanClass of 1987
2012Tom GerkeClass of 1976
2011James Trujillo, Jr.Class of 2004
2010Saundra OvertonClasses of 1984, 1989
2009Debbie NolandClass of 1972
2008Nellie K. Owen, DVMClass of 1991
2007Marlin G. HammondClass of 1972
2006David C. FurnellClass of 1981
2005Peggy RichardsonClass of 1977
2004Susan HortonClasses of 1979, 1980, 1994
2003Elaine PaxtonClass of 1971
2002Dennis ShullClass of 1980
2001Eric YazellClass of 1987
2000Brad SchnackenbergClass of 1989
1999Brad DittmerClass of 1979
1998James RennisonClass of 1974
1997Jane LuperClass of 1975
1996Patricia GillmanClass of 1988
1995Evelyn JorgensonClass of 1972
1994Tony ClaxtonClass of 1980
1993Barry GuierClass of 1977
1992Leonard DixonClass of 1977
1991Ruth ElmoreClass of 1982
1990Cam JenningsClass of 1974
1989Thomas DeuschleClass of 1978
1988Josephine DeyClass of 1979
1987Debbie BiermannClass of 1973

Toll Free (877) 311-7322

It's about community!

State Fair Community College provides relevant and responsive learning experiences that empower our students and communities to prosper.

Roadrunner logo
Segment Pixel