State Fair Community College

SFCC Clubs and Organizations

Joining a club or organization is a great way to get involved on campus! For more information about SFCC's clubs or organizations, you may call (660) 530-5854.

Agriculture Club
The Ag Club works within the community to promote and develop leadership, educational advancement, and group participation of members at the local, state , and national level. Members participate in state and national conventions where awards and scholarships are earned. The Ag Club co-sponsors activities such as Casino Night, a Whole-Hog BBQ and in addition, sponsors a farm-toy booth at the Missouri State Fair, FFA Seminar, and various other activities.

Advisors: Brad Driskill (bdriskill@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7238) and Kerri Bates (kbates@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7239)

ANIME CLUB

The SFCC ANIME CLUB was formed to enrich the SFCC academic environment by stimulating the growth and appreciation of anime as an art form. In addition, the ANIME CLUB will provide an awareness of the Anime lifestyle and encourage a cross-cultural environment to learn about and to understand Japanese Culture. Likewise, we provide an enjoyable setting for Anime and Manga fans so they can meet to discuss the art form and to teach it to others.

Advisor: Patty Dump (pdump@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7354)

Art Society "V"
If you have an interest in art or in an art major, you'll be interested in the SFCC Art Club. The club offers exposure to and experiences with the visual arts through field trips to museums, galleries, and studios in Kansas City, St. Louis, Chicago, and New York City as well as visits to area college galleries and art departments. Also the club helps with the visiting artist and lecturer series and the SFCC exhibition area's ongoing series of exhibits.

Advisor: Paul Allen (pallen@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7385)

ASPIRE - Aspiring Students Participating in Reaching Excellence (Clinton only)
This club is designed to help students reach their goals academically and personally. ASPIRE brings students together to seek improvements in all aspects of their educational experience and to promote community awareness.

Advisor: Dara Bigler (dbigler@sfccmo.edu or (660) 383-1601)

Associate Degree Nursing Club (ADN)

Advisor: Erin Wilson (ewilson6@sfccmo.edu )

Campus Activities Board (CAB)
CAB is a group of students who plan, organize and lead campus activities. The group's goals are to increase student involvement and provide safe and fun activities for all students.

Advisor: Steve Thomas, Director of Student Life and Development (sthomas10@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7173)

Campus Fellowship
This is an interdenominational, evangelical organization for SFCC students and staff. Its activities include a weekly Bible study,  occasional social get-togethers, concerts, and films, as well as any form of outreach that benefits the campus and the community. Members attend periodic conferences and training programs sponsored by Inter-Varsity Christian Fellowship, to which Campus Fellowship is affiliated.

Advisor: Sherlyn Nail (snail@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7248)

Criminal Justice Club

Students may enjoy this group for the social and community service projects. Club is open to all students whether criminal justice majors or not.  Activities also include field trips to related locations and speakers on topics of interest.

Advisor: James Cunningham (jcunningham@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7367)

Dental Hygiene Club

Advisor: Carrie Benner (cbenner@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7290)

Helping Educate Regarding Orientation (HERO)

The purpose of HERO is to encourage acceptance and tolerance within the diverse population of the campus community and to create a place of support, respect, pride and safety for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender members of the student body.

Advisors: Amy Schroeder (aschroeder2@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7299) and John Morris (jmorris2@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7176).

History Club
This club is for all students who have an interest in exploring the past. Activities include seminar discussions, field trips, lectures, and study of the human condition through fellowship and socialization. The club participates in all major campus events related to student activities and sponsors its own events as well. Students do not have to be a history major but must be interested in having fun.

Advisor: Jim Page (jpage@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7319)

Horticulture Club
All students enrolled in the Associate of Applied Science in Horticulture program are members of the Horticulture Club.  This club takes an active role in campus beatification, community service, and campus wide activities.  Horticulture Club members attend several workshops and trade shows to enhance their knowledge of the horticulture industry.  Fund raising efforts include parking cars during the Missouri State Fair and an annual plant sale.  The main focus is on increasing community awareness and education concerning the importance of agriculture.

Advisors: Brad Driskill (bdriskill@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7238) and Kerri Bates (kbates@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7239)

IMAGE

Improving Minority Advantages and Generating Excellence (IMAGE) provides both traditional and non-traditional minority students with a positive and forward thinking perspective on college life and life after graduation. Some of the activities includes job shadowing, mentoring, participating in service projects and exploring diverse cultures.

Advisor: Crissina Kemp (ckemp@sfccmo.edu) or (660) 596-7244)

LEADD

LEADD stands for Leadership, Education, and Advocacy for Disability as Diversity; long name but important message! The focus is going to be in diversity education relating to disability awareness at SFCC and community service. LEADD is a great opportunity to be a leader on campus and have some fun! This club is going to be student driven, so bring your ideas for things you would like to accomplish in the upcoming year!

Advisor: Katrina Grunzinger (kgrunzinger@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7489)

Music Club

Advisor: Ron Sayer (rsayer@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7269)

Phi Beta Lambda (PBL)
Affiliated with the state and national organizations, the Phi Beta Lambda chapter at SFCC works to develop strong, assertive leadership in future businessmen and women.  PBL is the college-level counterpart of the high school FBLA.  Business students participate in group projects conducted under the guidance of persons in education, business, and the professions.  Students learn how to compete honorably with their colleagues on the state and national levels; how to hold office and direct the affairs of the group; how to work with representatives of other organizations; and how to engage in individual and group business enterprises.  All this for the purpose of teaching and training future businessmen and businesswomen for community life. 

Advisors: Jodi Fudge (jfudge@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7260) or Rena Galloway (rgalloway@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7281

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)
SFCC's chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society originated in 1986. Phi Theta Kappa is based upon four major hallmarks that all chapters strive to fulfill.  These are:  leadership, fellowship, service, and scholarship. Students are eligible to join after completing 12 semester hours with a cumulative grade point average of 3.5.  PTK members who meet certain criteria of participation may be eligible to wear a PTK stole at commencement. 

Advisors: Robin Hargrave (rhargrave@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7211) or Joel Kazy (jkazy@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7431)

Practical Nursing Club (PN)
Membership consists of all practical nursing students. Objectives are to promote high personal standards and encourage leadership and fellowship among members. These objectives are obtained by various activities throughout the year. Several money making projects fund activities such as; adoption of a special family; attending professional seminars; purchasing educational film strips for SFCC and community agencies.

Advisor: Erin Wilson (ewilson6@sfccmo.edu

Radiologic Technology Club

Advisor: Ruth Ann Pfremmer (rpfremmer@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7405)

Residence Hall Advisory Council (RHAC)
Every resident of the living on campus is automatically a member of RHAC.  RHAC serves as the representative organization of the student body in the SFCC Residence Hall and is a forum for the expression of opinion, recommendations, and suggestions of the residents.  RHAC membership strives to establish and maintain high ideals, to encourage cooperation among residents and the College, and to develop closer relationships between the residents, the faculty, and staff.  Student leaders from the residence hall are elected into office at the beginning of the fall semester.  This group of student leaders also coordinates social activities for the residence hall.

Advisor: To be announced, (660) 596-7231

Science Club
The Science Club is designed to encourage individuals enthusiasm in the sciences. We promote this through various activities which also provide services to the campus and the community to raise awareness and involvement in the SFCC Math and Science departments. Activities include field trips, guest speakers, canoe trips, and much more! The only requirement is enthusiasm!

Advisor: Jack Hayes (jhayes@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7346)

SFCC Players (Theater Club)
Drama productions at SFCC provide many opportunities for those with theatrical and/or musical interest both as performers and in the backstage crafts.  A minimum of one production is scheduled each semester. 

Advisors: Eric Yazell (eyazell@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7445) and Tim Wells (twells@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7388)

SFCC Spirit Squad
Supporting the teams and contributing to the spirit at SFCC, the squad performs at all college home games. Anyone with an interest in cheering is welcome to try out.

Advisor: Dana Page (dpage1@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7443)

Sonography Club

Student Government Association 

Student MSTA

The Missouri State Teachers Association (MSTA) nurtures the next generation of teachers by sponsoring a student group at the college level.  Student-MSTA (S-MSTA) is the pre-professional organization for education majors on Missouri college and university campuses. Members have opportunities for:

  • Personal and professional growth
  • Development of leadership skills
  • Participation in professional development at local and state levels

Student-MSTA also offers affordable services:

  • Liability insurance for student teachers included in dues
  • Legal assistance
  • Teacher U, the S-MSTA newsletter
  • School & Community magazine
  • Annual fall meeting during MSTA’s state convention

Yearly fees are $20 for any SFCC or CMU student interested in going into the field of Education.

Advisor: Cara Barth-Fagan (cbarthfagan1@sfccmo.edu or (660) 596-7329)

TRiO Student Support Services

 

© Copyright 2008-2010 State Fair Community College
3201 W. 16th St · Sedalia, Missouri · 65301-2199
Toll-free: (877) 311-7322 · Map/Directions
Equal Opportunity/AccommodationsA tobacco-free campus