State Fair Community College

Distinguished Alumni 

Dr. Jennifer Hargrave was named State Fair Community College’s 2015 Distinguished Alumni (DA) winner.

Dr. Hargrave, a cardiothoracic anesthesiologist at the Cleveland Clinic in Cleveland, Ohio, gave the keynote address at the college’s commencement ceremony at 7 p.m. May 15 in the Mathewson Exhibition Center on the Missouri State Fairgrounds.

She also will gave an alumni welcome for the college’s Allied Health commencement and pinning ceremony scheduled for 2 p.m. May 15 in the Fred E. Davis Multipurpose Center on the Sedalia campus.

In addition to clinical practice, Hargrave serves as an assistant professor of Anesthesiology at the Cleveland Clinic Learner College of Medicine and is a faculty member in the Cleveland Clinic Anesthesiology Resident and Cardiothoracic Anesthesia training programs.

In 2013, she was promoted to associate program director of the Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesia Fellowship Program, the largest cardiothoracic fellowship program in the nation. Hargrave has presented and published on a national level and was recognized by the American College of Osteopathic Anesthesiologists and initiated as a fellow in 2013.

Dr. Michael S. O’Connor, chair of the Department of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology in the Anesthesiology Institute at the Cleveland Clinic, calls Hargrave “one of the finest young physicians I have ever worked with.”

In his first interview with her, he recognized “intellectual brilliance, determination to work hard and succeed, and humility grounded in core values of integrity and compassion,” he said.

“Dr. Hargrave has achieved a stunning record of success in a short period of time in both academic medicine and at our institution,” said O’Connor. “She has been successful precisely because of the core values shaped by her experiences at State Fair Community College: hard work, no short cuts, stay motivated, persevere with humor and humility, and always conduct oneself with utmost integrity and professionalism.”

Hargrave is a 1998 graduate of State Fair Community College, where she served on the Student Government Association, was a member of Phi Theta Kappa and a TRiO tutor. She was named the Distinguished Associate of Arts Student in 1998.

P.C. Thomas, who nominated Hargrave for both that award and this year’s DA honor, said her performance in his English composition class was well above her peers’ skills.

“Getting by with the required minimum of work was never her goal; she was always enthusiastically aiming toward excellence,” said Thomas, who attributes Hargrave’s motivation and work ethic to her upbringing and deep-rooted faith.

In 2001, Hargrave received a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry from Truman State University in Kirksville, Missouri, and in 2005 she earned her Doctorate of Osteopathic Medicine from Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences.

After medical school, Hargrave began postdoctoral training in anesthesiology at Des Peres Hospital in St. Louis, where she was named Clinical Intern of the Year and served as chief anesthesiology resident. She then pursued sub-specialty fellowship training in Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesia at the Cleveland Clinic. There she was chosen as the Chief Cardiothoracic Anesthesia Fellow and the Clinical Cardiothoracic Anesthesia Fellow of 2010.  

After fellowship training she remained on staff at the Cleveland Clinic, which has been ranked the number one hospital in cardiac and cardiac surgical care for the past 20 years by the 2014 U.S. News and World Reports.

All seven of Dr. Hargrave’s siblings have graduated from State Fair Community College and much of her family remains in the Sedalia area, including her parents, Richard and Janice Hargrave; paternal grandfather Raymon Hargrave Jr., whose wife Mildred Hargrave is deceased; and maternal grandmother Mitzi Linsenbardt, whose husband Dr. Robert Linsenbardt is deceased.

Nomination deadline for Distinguished Alumni Award is March 10.

For guidelines and nomination form, click here.

Distinguished Alumni Recipients

Dr. Jennifer Hargrave
Class of 1998
Roger C. Austin
Class of 1986
Dr. Dean Dohrman
Class of 1987
Tom Gerke
Class of 1976
James Trujillo, Jr. 
Class of 2004
Saundra Overton
Classes of 1984 and 1989
Debbie Noland
Class of 1972
Nellie K. Owen, DVM
Class of 1991
Marlin G. Hammond
Class of 1972
David C. Furnell
Class of 1981
Peggy Richardson
Class of 1977
Susan Horton
Classes of 1979, 1980, and 1994
Elaine Paxton
Class of 1971
Dennis Shull
Class of 1980
Eric Yazell
Class of 1987
Brad Schnackenberg
Class of 1989
Brad Dittmer
Class of 1979
James Rennison
Class of 1974
Jane Luper
Class of 1975
Patricia Gillman
Class of 1988
Evelyn Jorgenson
Class of 1972
Tony Claxton
Class of 1980
Barry Guier
Class of 1977
Leonard Dixon
Class of 1977
Ruth Elmore
Class of 1982
Cam Jennings
Class of 1974
Thomas Deuschle
Class of 1978
Josephine Dey
Class of 1979
Debbie Biermann
Class of 1973

Copyright 2014 State Fair Community College
3201 W. 16th St Sedalia, Missouri 65301-2199
Toll-free: (877) 311-7322 Map/Directions
Equal Opportunity/Accommodations A tobacco-free campus